Midlands Four in Barbarians Squad

North Midlands RFU

Last Updated: Apr 21, 2014 09:35pm
St. Stephen, Worcester
By Paul Bolton
Share |

FOUR Midlands-based players have been included in the Barbarians squad for their match against Clontarf at Castle Avenue in Dublin on Wednesday April 23 (5.30pm).

Ben Evans, the former Moseley and Wales prop, will captain the side which will include his club-mate, lock Mike Powell , as one of 12 new Barbarians.

Powell will pack down with Dean Schofield, the Worcester Warriors and  former England international, with Bedford Blues back row forward Mark McCraith among the replacements.

Evans, fly-half Ceri Sweeney and lock Hayden Pugh are the three players in the squad who have played for the Barbarians before.

The Clontarf match has been arranged to mark the millennium anniversary of the Battle of Clontarf.

Barbarians: 15 Danny Riordan (Old Belvedere) ; 14 Philip O’Dwyer (Old Belvedere), 13 Jason Shoemark (Exeter Chiefs), 12 Tom Cheesman (Esher), 11 Fraser Harkness (Selkirk); 10 Ceri Sweeney (Exeter Chiefs and Wales), 9 James Grindal (Bristol); 1 Lorne Ward (Rosslyn Park), 2 Ger Slattery (Young Munster) 3 Ben Evans (Moseley and Wales – captain), 4 Mike Powell (Moseley), 5 Hayden Pugh (Carmarthen Quins), 6 Dean Schofield (Worcester Warriors and England), 7 Charlie Butterworth (Lansdowne), 8 William Ryan (Cork Constitution). Replacements: Rob Elloway (Cornish Pirates and Germany), Colm McMahon (St. Mary’s College), Andrew Jones (Llandovery), Mark McCraith (Bedford Blues), Peter Synnott (Esher), Ryan de la Harpe Fylde and Namibia), Richie McMaster (Queen’s University), Bryan Rennie (Bristol).



blog comments powered by Disqus