Old Cranleighans RFU Junior Vase Winners

Last Updated: May 11, 2016 07:46am
Weston Green, Elmbridge
By The RFU
Share |

Old Cranleighans RFC were crowned RFU Junior Vase champions after a convincing eight-try victory over Buxton RFC at Twickenham.

It was Buxton’s first defeat of the season having won all 25 of their games so far this term, including ending Wetherby’s remarkable 58-game unbeaten run in the semi-finals of this competition.

Old Cranleighan RFC led 19-0 at the break with tries from Ben O’Neill, James Jupp and Sam Dormon as well as two Conor Brown conversions.

The tries continued in the second period with Dormon crossing three more times while Max Rowson and Brett Chatwin also went over to seal the rout.

Old Cranleighan RFC were the first to cross with captain O’Neill crashing over from close range after a well-worked line-out with Brown’s conversion making it 7-0 after six minutes.

Scrum half Jupp was next to cross with his forwards taking them to the try line before the number nine sniped through with a dummy and a step. Brown sent over his second conversion to extend the lead to 14 points.

Brown then missed a penalty to extend the lead further but Dormon went over for their third try with a stunning effort on the left wing, breaking through three tackles before diving over for 19-0 just before the half hour.

Buxton RUFC showed incredible heart to prevent a fourth try with the Thames Ditton club camped on their line, Brown was then wide with a penalty shortly before the break as the half-time whistle went at Twickenham.

Old Cranleighan RFC soon scored their fourth try though showing neat handling on the left wing to put Rowson over while Brown’s conversion made it 26-0.

Adam Bontus’ break through midfield set up Dormon for his second try which Brown converted for 33-0. Hooker Matthew Dawes then burst through the line before showing great pace to release Dormon who went over in the left-hand corner for his hat trick taking the score to 38-0.

Dormon had his fourth with a jinking run that confused his opponent and he dotted down and converted his own try to take the score to 45-0. With minutes remaining Chatwin broke from his own half to score the final try of the game.




Buxton: Simeon Meek, Michael Pullen, Benjamin Rosamond, Ryan McCoy, Josh Degroot, Ian Scott, Ben Austin, Kieran Wain, Jamie Lowery, Adam Holland, Ryan Sircar, Dean Wagstaffe, Alex Edwards, James Torrance, Greg Mellor, George Stone, Conor McHale, Daniel Corthorne, Gavin Passey, Matthew Lomas, Oliver Golden, Sam Edwards


Old Cranleighans: Tom Collier, Matthew Dawes, Dennis Kwist, Luke Rose, Tom Garland, James McLaughlin, Max Rowson, Ben O’Neill, © James Jupp, Mark Langford, Sam Dormon, Adam Bontus, Rich Irving, Conor Brown, Brett Chatwin, Duncan Head, Charlie Blurton, Nacho Fernandez, Simon Steer, Paul Arthur, Benjie Walters, Christian Larsmon


blog comments powered by Disqus