Shropshire Lose West for 3 Counties Game

North Midlands RFU

Last Updated: Apr 28, 2015 06:58pm
Newport, Telford and Wrekin
By Paul Bolton
Share |

Shropshire will be without lock Ian West for their match against Worcestershire & Herefordshire in the Iskitz Three Counties Championship at Telford Hornets’ Town Park ground on Tuesday April 28 (7.30pm).

West, of Harper Adams University and Eccleshall, played in Shropshire’s 55-5 win over Greater Birmingham in the opening match of their title defence at Birmingham Exiles last week but will miss their second group match because of a title defence.

Shropshire have made one other change to their squad with Newport prop Joe Tucker called up to increase the front row options.

Shropshire are still unable to select players from Bridgnorth because of the club’s involvement in the RFU Intermediate Cup final at Twickenham next Sunday.

Worcestershire & Herefordshire missed out on a place in last season’s final but start their challenge to regain the title with a squad that includes strong contingents from Kidderminster Carolians and Droitwich.

Worcestershire & Herefordshire will host Greater Birmingham at Ledbury in the final group match on May 5 with the top two teams in the group contesting the final at Old Halesonians on May 17.


Shropshire squad:

Backs: Andrew Wheeldon (Eccleshall), Liam Holder (Newport), Josh Phillips (Cleobury Mortimer), David Shorter (Cleobury Mortimer), Llew Williams (Harper Adams University), Ashley Paterson (Newport), Sam Foskett (Newport), Josh Evans (Newport).

Forwards: Aaron Doigney (Newport), Tom Cowell (Newport), Jack Wells (Newport), Phil Rogers (Eccleshall), Jake Goulson (Newport), Michael Woodhouse (Newport), Jimmy Lloyd (Whitchurch), Tom Leach (Cleobury Mortimer), Paul Hulland (Cleobury Mortimer – captain), Joe Tucker (Newport), Gareth Judge (Harper Adams University and Eccleshall).


Worcestershire & Herefordshire

15 Oliver Bache (Bromsgrove); 14 Sam Davenport (Droitwich), 13 Andy Holloway (Old Halesonians), 12 Rhys Pritchard (Kidderminster Carolians), 11 James Jefferson (Dudley Kingswinford); 10 George Morgan (Kidderminster Carolians), 9 Chris Pinner (Kidderminster Carolians); 1 Ben Hillstead (Hereford), 2 Jim Parkes (Dudley Kingswinford), 3 James Shewell (Droitwich), 4 Ed Parry (Dudley Kingswinford), 5 Guy Field (Old Halesonians), 6 Loz Breeze (Old Halesonians), 7 Rich Pennock (Stourbridge Lions), 8 Max McFarlane (Upton on Severn).


Craig Freeman (Malvern), Aaron Hudson (Dudley Kingswinford), Stuart Brookes (Droitwich), Russ Brown (Droitwich), Danny Hawkins (Dudley Kingswinford), Rob  Chivers (Dudley Kingswinford), Jack Fairhurst (Redditch), Rich Thomas (Woodrush), Matt Hallett (Ledbury), Duncan Chance (Stourbridge Lions).


blog comments powered by Disqus