Wildmoor Spa Club of the Year

Wildmoor Spa Tennis League

Last Updated: Aug 26, 2014 04:03pm
Bidford-on-Avon, Stratford-on-Avon
By Corin Bishop
Share |

"King Cup" Club of the Year 2014 Evesham


The League Secretary of the South Warwickshire Summer Tennis League, Corin Bishop ,announced that the "King Cup" will be awarded to Evesham Tennis Club with the title "Club of the Year" in 2014.

This decision was based first by eliminating clubs who did not enter the Junior League which left 12.  Then he excluded any that had been fined for rule infringements or fielding only one pair during the current season and caused problems for the league administrators. This left 7 out of 21 clubs. Then one more was knocked out of the reckoning by their junior side missing a match during their season leaving 6 clubs. In fairness to others, four previous winners were then discounted in order to spread the rewards, leaving only two clubs who are worthy of mention, Evesham, and Pershore.

Evesham were in contention in the  last four in 2013 and so for keeping up their impeccable record again this year the Secretary chose Evesham as his choice to received the President's "King Cup".  They are ably led by their long serving team contact and captain Ray Foster-Morison and supported by their club coach Andrew Crowther who also organises the Junior side who were runners-up in Pool C of the Junior Competition this season.  The Evesham men's team enjoyed a successful season finishing as runners-up to Stratford in the Premier Division, a position they also reached in 2007, 2008 and 2010.  Evesham Tennis Club has lovely situated courts near the banks of the River Avon.  For all the previous reasons Evesham Tennis Club are fully deserving of their title Club of their Year 2014.

The photograph is of "Club of the Year 2014" Evesham Tennis Club players Simon Wall & John Clarke.
Also in the Evesham squad are Ray Foster-Morison (captain), Paul Everatt, Rob Noble, Chris Francis, and Andy Crowther.



blog comments powered by Disqus