Wildmoor Spa Tennis Fair Play Plate

Last Updated: Aug 24, 2015 07:57pm
Bidford-on-Avon, Stratford-on-Avon
By Corin Bishop
Share |

Joint Winners Bidford A & Inkberrow D - The "Fair Play Plate" Award 2015

The "Fair Play Plate" has been awarded for the fourth time since it replaced the Pairs competition trophy in 2012.  This is voted on by all the teams from the six divisions.  It is decided by votes from the league teams on which side in their opinion they felt was the most convivial both on and off the court and for their after match hospitality.  It has nothing to do with their playing ability, just their friendliness, conduct and entertaining abilities and crosses all divisions.

In 2012 Inkberrow C were given this honour, in 2013 it was HDA B of Redditch and in 2014 it was the turn of Chipping Campden C to be recognised, all three teams from Division Four.  Of the 47 teams circulated 40 votes were received back.  There were 20 teams nominated from all divisions with Evesham A in the Premier, Claverdon A from Division One, Inkberrow B in Division Two and Claverdon C  from Division Three all receiving three votes each. 

However, only Bidford-on-Avon ‘A’ from Division Four and Inkberrow ‘D’ from Division Five received four votes each.  So congratulations go to the joint winners and recipients of the Fair Play Award for  2015, Bidford ‘A’ and Inkberrow ‘D’.  They will each keep the trophy for six months apiece.  First to be presented, at the Annual Presentation day in  September, will Inkberrow ‘D’, who will then hand it over to Bidford-on-Avon ‘A’ at the League’s Annual General Meeting in February for the last six months.

Photos are of both Winning Teams,  Bidford A Squad & Inkberrow D Team 2015 Joint Winners of the Wildmoor Spa League “Fair Play Plate”

Bidford ‘A’ Team Squad From Left to Right:  Malcolm Dewsbury, Colin Green (Captain), Paul Bruner, Graham Jackson, Simon Price & Greg Bruner

Inkberrow ‘D’ Team, From Left to R: Gary Whitehouse, Roger Underhill, Dave Johnson & Ian James (Captain)


blog comments powered by Disqus