Wildmoor Spa Tennis League Jubilee Celebrations

Last Updated: Sep 9, 2014 03:33pm
Bidford-on-Avon, Stratford-on-Avon
By Corin Bishop
Share |

Wildmoor Spa Tennis League Jubilee Celebrations 31/2014

The Photograph commemorates the League's Jubilee with some past and present members outside the League Sponsor's premises the Wildmoor Spa and Health Club, Alcester Road, Stratford. From L to R:

Ray Foster-Morison, Paul Haffner, Graham Lawrence, Tony King (President),  Anthony Bird (Sponsor), Corin Bishop (Secretary), Tony Eskew (Chairman), Alan Colbourne and Alan Robson. 


Wildmoor Spa Tennis League Celebrates Silver Jubilee


The South Warwickshire Men's Summer League currently known as the Wildmoor Spa Tennis League celebrated it's Silver Jubilee at the recently held Annual Presentations at the Alcester Road courts.


The league was founded by the Secretary Corin Bishop 25 years ago with the first season in 1990 consisting of one division of seven teams those being Alcester A and B, Aston Cantlow, Bidford-on-Avon, FISSC (NFU) of Stratford, Harbury, Henley-in-Arden and Warwickshire Police.  The first season was a dictatorship but Corin then called an AGM and a committee of three were elected with himself (ex Secretary of Bidford) as League Secretary, Ken Parkes (Police) as Treasurer and Mike Hart (Alcester) as Chairman.


Over the years the league grew to include teams from not only South Warwickshire but also from Worcestershire and Gloucestershire, eventually reaching today's 6 divisions and 45 teams plus 6 Pools of 24 Junior Teams in their own separate competition.  In accordance the committee also grew to a total of 11 with Divisional Organisers, a Fixture Secretary and a non-voting Honorary President.




blog comments powered by Disqus